This is my first recipe and also my very first blog text in English. So let's begin.

I'm an adult student in Turku Vocational Institute, on the Hotel, Restaurant, and Catering Services, Cook's study programme, and I'm going to be a professional in the kitchen some day, or at least I hope so...

Now we have to write three recipes in English as an exercise, and they should be written as blog texts - that's why I'm writing them here. The biggest problem is choosing the recipes. There's so many options and I'm that kind of a person who can't decide anything, so I looked back to my childhood and chose a few of my favorites of that time.

 

HASH - PYTTIPANNU

Every now and then we had some leftovers from boiled potatoes and then my mother made this dish. Simple and tasty - even though it's not so healthy. Classic Finnish dish.

Ingredients:

boiled potatoes

onions

sausage, ham or any kind of meat

salt and pepper

butter

egg (one for each)

How to do:

1. Peel and chop the onions, peel and cube the potatoes and sausage/ham.

2. Heat the frying pan over medium-high heat, add butter and fry the potatoes, onions and sausage/ham.

3. When the colour is nice and brown, taste and season with salt and pepper and pour to a warm plate.

4. Put more heat to the pan and fry the egg quickly only from one side, season and slide the egg onto the hash.

Serve with ketchup and pickled cucumber.